Nethy Bridge and Vicinity Community Council


Community Councils were first established in Scotland following the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973. Thereafter, the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1994, which produced the current system of unitary Local Authorities, made provision or the continuation of Community Councils.


The Highland Council, in accordance with the terms of Section 22 of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1994 adopted a Scheme for Establishment of Community Councils within The Highland Council area. Nethy Bridge and Vicinity Community Council is part of that Scheme and governed by its Constitution.

Statutory Purposes

The statutory purposes of Community Councils established under this Scheme are set out in Section 51 (2) of the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973, as follows:

“In addition to any other purpose which a Community Council may pursue, the general purpose of a Community Council shall be to ascertain, co-ordinate and express to the local authorities for its area, and to public authorities, the views of the community which it represents, in relation to matters for which those authorities are responsible, and to take such action in the interests of that community as appears to it to be expedient and practicable”


Sandy McCook – Chairman
Jennifer Grant – Secretary
David Carrott -Treasurer
Donnie Black
Stephen George
Eric Ibbertson
Andy Young

Monthly Meetings

The Community Council meet at 7.30pm every first Thursday in the month at the Nethy Bridge Community Centre, Dell Road. There are no meetings in July and August each year.

Minutes of Meeting