Nethy Bridge History

Comprehensive database with info and photos highlighting the fascinating history of Nethy and the surrounding area

Nethy Bridge History

Comprehensive database with info and photos highlighting the fascinating history of Nethy and the surrounding area

Nethy Bridge History

Comprehensive database with info and photos highlighting the fascinating history of Nethy and the surrounding area

Nethy Bridge History

Comprehensive database with info and photos highlighting the fascinating history of Nethy and the surrounding area

Nethy Bridge History

Comprehensive database with info and photos highlighting the fascinating history of Nethy and the surrounding area

Home » History » Coulnakyle

Coulnakyle

Owners/occupiers

All those named below lived in the immediate area of Coulnakyle, or in Coulnakyle House itself

James Grant of Freuchie – early 1500s

Duncan Grant of Freuchie – 1565 – 1582 (Freuchie – now Castle Grant)

Sir John Grant of Freuchie – early 1600s

Captain Mason – 1630

Marquis of Montrose – 1644

Williamite Generals Mackay and Livingstone – 1689 ‘Baron Bailies’ – 1690s

Jacobite General Buchan – April 1690

York Buildings Company -1728 – 1737

John More (Abernethy sawmiller, builder of Dell Pipe Boring Mill) – mid 1700s

James Grant of Inveroury – 1765

Marion Grant (d.1807), sister of Sir. James Grant – 180? – 1807

Lewis Alexander Grant, 5th Earl of Seafield – 1811

Captain James MacDonald (tacksman) – 1818

Mr. Richard Winsloe and family – 1834 – 1846

Mr Grigor and Mr J Stewart (farmers) – 1852

Summer visitors – 1900s Camerons –

1900s Lady Fenwick Clennel – ?year

Uses

Permanent and holiday residence Headquarters for law, business and military leaders Sporting Lodge

Built by

Original house – Grants of Freuchie Current house – John Ada

Construction date

Original house – early 16th Century;  Current house – 1765

Coulnakyle Farmhouse viewed from the Nethy Bridge Golf Course (photograph courtesy of Alastair McCook)

Location/map

Approx half a mile north west of Nethy Bridge

History

‘There is more historical interest connected with Coulnakyle than with any other place in our parish…a centre of life and interest for more than six hundred years’ (Forsyth 1900)

1226 – Identified in the Register of Moray

1539 – ‘the lands of Cannocawill’ are included in the Barony of Strathspey (Feu Disposition to James Grant of Freuchie)

There is a legend of a ghost and the phantom clattering sound of horses and armour from Cumberland’s men on their journey through to the Battle of Culloden.

Nethy Bridge Community Centre

We are grateful to the listed businesses and organisations, without which it would not be possible to run a community website.

community.centre@nethybridge.com

A charitable company limited by guarantee
Registered charity number: SC 012389
Company registration number: SC 379387

Registered Office

Post Office
Nethy Bridge
Inverness-shire
PH25 3DA
Scotland