COVID-19 Announcement: In view of ongoing COVID-19 pandemic our committee has decided to cancel dancing until the end of this year. This will be reviewed in December with the hope we can resume dancing in the New Year.
Take care all and stay safe.
Meeting hall for Army personnel during World War One and Two. Village concerts and dances. Demolished after WW2
War Department (Ministry of Defence)
Built by 1896.
Next to the current Nethy bridge.
Drill Sergeant’s house (Caberfiedh) located next door (owned by War Dept).
The Drill Hall was demolished after WW2 and replaced by the ‘Institute’ (now Nethy Bridge Village Hall).
The entrance step was recovered from Tulloch during the 1990s and became part of a commemorative seat, sited at the location of the Drill Hall.
The seat now bears plaques with the following inscriptions –
‘In proud memory of every man of Nethy Bridge and District who trod on this threshold step of the village hall when he enlisted in the forces 1914 – 1918’
‘This seat of which the large stone was the doorstep of the Drill Hall which stood on this site, was a gift to the people of Nethy Bridge from Badenoch and Strathspey District Council on its demise in April 1996.’
M. O’Reilly Explore Abernethy Visitor Centre
McCook, A (1994, 2004) Local resident
Nethy Bridge Community Centre
We are grateful to the listed businesses and organisations, without which it would not be possible to run a community website.
A charitable company limited by guarantee
Registered charity number: SC 012389
Company registration number: SC 379387