Nethy Bridge History

Comprehensive database with info and photos highlighting the fascinating history of Nethy and the surrounding area

Nethy Bridge History

Comprehensive database with info and photos highlighting the fascinating history of Nethy and the surrounding area

Nethy Bridge History

Comprehensive database with info and photos highlighting the fascinating history of Nethy and the surrounding area

Nethy Bridge History

Comprehensive database with info and photos highlighting the fascinating history of Nethy and the surrounding area

Nethy Bridge History

Comprehensive database with info and photos highlighting the fascinating history of Nethy and the surrounding area

Home » History » Talisker

Talisker

Construction date

Built by 1881.

Location/map ref

Dell Road.

 
“Taliisker was called Fir Knowe until at least the 1970s. Most of the houses built in Nethy Bridge in the late 1800s had English names, often involving trees, and were built specifically for letting to summer visitors.  IApparently , local policeman Jonathan Campbell, changed the name to Talisker.
 
It was  renamed Talisker after the place, on Skye, and not the whisky! 
 
Information from Jane Lilley & Rita Templeton 

 

 

 

Nethy Bridge Community Centre

We are grateful to the listed businesses and organisations, without which it would not be possible to run a community website.

A charitable company limited by guarantee
Registered charity number: SC 012389
Company registration number: SC 379387

Registered Office

Post Office
Nethy Bridge
Inverness-shire
PH25 3DA
Scotland